Japan=land of the rising sun, super toilets...and the HOT SPRINGS

PS Did I tell you that the toilets here all have seat warmers? So that your bum won't cringe and shrivel when in contact with the toilet seat the kind japs have the seats fitted with an electric warmer. Ever so kind.

Anyway, hot springs. Each Onsen is famous for something based on the mineral content of the spring. Kusatsu (2hr drive from my house) for example is famous for skin conditions and diabetes. So just in case you come over to Japan here I will like to brief you on the methodology of onsen-enjoying.
First you wash your body OUTSIDE the baths. Using the bucket and stool (the wooden ones in the pic), the shower and soap, shampoo etc etc you first scrub yourself squeaky clean. If not who would want to share a hot spring with you? Yuckk
Traditionally we scrub each other's backs, but not often nowadays.
Next we go and plunge!
The towel or scrubber you washed yourself with must not come into contact with the water (etiquette). So we put it on our heads or on the stones outside. I usually put mine on the stones which mean they are stone cold by the time I pick them up again.

So late night on the 31st me and my friends went to one and really enjoyed ourselves. I also for the first time tried a "korean skin scrub"- something which would remind you of the ancient roman baths (we had the roman baths down our street in Glasgow, sorry if this illustration doesn't ring your imagination). Korean ladies fitted with scrubbing gloves rub you down raw and exfoliate you to the extreme.
I hate pain (especially if you have to pay for it!) so I had never had one. But I thought it would be interesting if I became whiter after it so off we went.
I wouldn't do it again but your skin does get super soft after it.
cc
1/4/2013 04:14:31 am

how funny ....i just said go to the hot springs in my email....then i come and see this blog!!! so youre in your birthday suit for the scrub? and in the water?
wakaranai!!

Reply
mumblyoshi
1/4/2013 08:13:30 pm

there's a separate room for this scrub thing. They put you on this table and scrub you down till there is nothing to exfoliate for the next week. So not in the water, sorry

Reply
Nicole
1/6/2013 05:06:51 am

I have heard of this!!! I want to try someday. So ARE you in your birthday suit? I was wondering...It seems like there would be a lot of birthday suit wearing for all of these endeavors.

Reply



Leave a Reply.